Die Giralda in Sevilla

  Die Giralda ist das Minarett der alten Almohad Moschee von Sevilla. Die unteren Bereiche der Giralda wurde ursprünglich von den Muslimen erbaut. Die Bauarbeiten begannen im Jahr 1184 unter der Herrschaft des Sultans von Marokko, Abu Yaqub Yusuf. Für das Fundament wurden alte Steine eines romanischen/römischen Gebäudes verwendet, von denen noch einige am Boden der Giralda gesehen werden können. Die Struktur der Giralda besteht aus vier Äußeren und vier inneren Wänden, zwischen denen sich eine Rampe nach oben zur Terrasse windet. So war es möglich, das die Sultan und Muezzine hoch zu Pferd den Turm hinaufreiten konnten. Das Bauwerk wurde 1196 fertig gestellt und 1198 wurden vier große Kupferkugeln auf dem Dach angebracht. Das von den Kugeln reflektierte Sonnenlicht machte die Stadt von weiter sichtbar. Mit einer Höhe von 82 Metern war die Giralda für einige Zeit der höchste Turm der Welt und einer der schönsten in der Muslimen Welt. Als die Stadt 1248 von dem christlichen König Ferdinand III. erobert wurde, wurde die Moschee in eine Kathedrale umgewidmet. 1356 beschädigte ein Erdbeben den oberen Teil der Giralda und zerstörte die Kupferkugeln. 1400 wurde ein Glockenturm installiert, um die zerstörten Kugeln zu ersetzen. Die Moschee wurde 1433 zerstört um ein christliche Kathedrale zu errichten. Diese wurde 1507 geweiht. Glücklicherweise entging die Giralda der Zerstörung und wurde weiterhin als Glockenturm genutzt. Zwischen 1558 und 1568 wurde ein neuer Renaissanceturm mit einer anderen Dachbedeckung errichtet, ein großes bronzefarbenes Windfahne, welches den christlichen Glauben symbolisieren sollte. So erhielt die Giralda ihre heutige Form mit einer Höhe von 98,5 m. Der Name Giralda ist abgeleitet von den Giros (Drehungen), die der Wind in den Windfahne erzeugt. Heutzutage ist die Giralda der Glockturm der Kathedrale von Sevilla.

 

    

   Diese Illustration von Guichot zeigt die Wandlungen der Giralda in ihrer langen Geschichte.

  Erstes Stadium, links: "Minharett und Observatorium der Großen Moschee, fertiggestellt von den Almohades 1198, gleichfalls zum Gedenken an den Kampf von Alarcos, drei Jahren zuvor."

  Zweites Stadium, rechts: "Glockenturm der Hauptkirche der christlichen Rekonquista (Rückeroberung) nach dem Einsturz des Gewölbes durch ein Erdbeben am 24. August 1356."

  Drittes Stadium, mitte, heute: "Glockenturm der Kathedrale, 1568 fertiggestellt von dem Cordoberaner Architekten Fernando Ruiz und anderer Meister, einschließlich er restaurierung von 1890."

 

  Ich habe diese Vorlage mit größtmöglicher Detailtreue zum Original-Monument gestaltet, indem ich alle möglichen Details eingebracht habe, die benutzte Holzstärke berücksichtigend. Sogar die Balkone und Dekorationen sind auf den einzelnen Seiten unterschiedlich; alle diese Details sind in diesem Model dargestellt. Um solch eine Detailtreue zu erreichen, habe ich Zeichnungen und Bilder des Turms studiert, um alle Maße, Höhen, Weiten und jedes mögliche Detail zu berücksichtigen.

   Die Vorlage beinhaltet keine besondere Schwierigkeit in der Konstruktion, ist aber doch das zeitaufwändigste und außergewöhnlichste der Muster, die ich auf dieser Seite vorstelle.

   Das Muster kann in jeder gewünschten Größe gemacht werden, wenn die Stärke der Holzes angepasst wird. Wenn Sie 4 mm starkes Holz benutzen, ist die Höhe 123 cm. Wenn Sie 1/8 Inch dickes Holz benutzen (Verkleinerung auf 80%), ist die Höhe 39 Inch.   Je nach Wahl des Holzes sind dass die Größen der Giralda:

  Höhe Breite
1.5, 3, 6 und 12 mm. Holz 92 cm. 14,9 cm.
2, 4, 8 und 16 mm. Holz 123 cm. 19,8 cm.
2.5, 5, 10 und 20 mm. Holz  154 cm. 24,8 cm.
1/16, 1/8, 1/4 und 1/2 Zoll Holz 38,4 in. 6,2 in.
3/32, 3/16, 3/8 und 3/4 Zoll Holz 57,6 in. 9,3 in.
 

   Dieses ist eine Detailaufnahme der Glockenabteilung.

   Dieses ist ein Detailbild des unteren Bereichs. Beachten Sie wie unterschiedlich die Seiten sind und das selbst die Balkone verschieden aussehen.

 

  Das ist der obere Teil des Turms, der den Giraldillo auf der Spitze zeigt.

  Dies ist ein Detail der sogenannten Uhren-Sektion. Im Moment befindet sich keine Uhr darin, aber in früheren Zeiten sehrwohl.

 
side balconies and decoration of the Giralda fretwork project

     This is a detail of some balconies and the decoration around them.

  Diese Vorlage ist registriert und copyright geschützt. Wenn Sie sie gerne haben würden, kann ich Sie Ihnen für 20 € anbieten. Diese Vorlage ist mit dem Computer in höchster Präzision angefertigt worden und kann für bequemes schneiden gut ausgedruckt werden. Bitte klicken Sie hier, wenn Sie diese Vorlage kaufen möchten. Schreiben Sie mir bitte an info@finescrollsaw.com wenn Sie Fragen haben.

  Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von José María Beltrán aus Barcelona, Spanien.

   
         
   
 
Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Pedro Domingo aus Baza, Granada, Spanien.  Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Isaac Arditi aus Israel.  Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Hugues Tournay aus Framkreich. 
 
Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Angel Revuelta aus Sevilla, Spanien.

 

Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Carlos del Cerro Tenorio aus Spanien.

Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Mariano Ruíz Sánchez aus Toledo, Spanien.   Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Ken Field aus Australia.

 

  Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Francisco Rodríguez aus Spanien.

  Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von De Bruyne Marnix aus Belgien.

 
  Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Carlos aus Madrid.

 
 Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Francisco aus Escalona (Toledo), Spanien.  Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Antonio Ruiz González aus Sevilla, Spanien.
 
Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Juan Antonio Barrantes aus Spanien.

 Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Antonio Valadés Flores aus Don Benito, Spanien.

Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung Luigi und Andrea Cassani aus Italien.

Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Antonio Chaves aus Spanien.

 
 Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von  Jose Luis Gómez aus Alcalá de Henares, Spanien. Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Diego Herrera Bellido aus Jerez de la Frontera, Spain.  Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von  Santiago Fernandez aus Barcelona, Spanien.
 
Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Aleandro Hernandez aus Amposta, Tarragona, Spanien. Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung Francisco Domingo Fabre aus Barcelona, Spanien. Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Evaristo Lorca aus Spanien. Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Juán Manuel Gil Rey aus Náquera, Valencia, Spanien.  Diese Bilder zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Juan Chaves aus Guadalcanal, Sevilla, Spanien.
 
Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Salvador Puig Vidal aus Vilassar de Dalt, Barcelona, Spanien.  Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Gaetano Lavezzo aus Italien.
 
 Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Jose Antonio Adame Macarro aus Sevilla, Spanien. Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Jose Rodrigo aus Borriol, Castellón, Spanien. Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Sebastiano Foddai aus Italien. Dieses Bild zeige ich mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Pedro Garcia Navarro aus Alcazar de San Juan, Spanien.

 

Webkarte

  Generell: Startseite - Arbeitsbeispiele - Kostenlose Vorlagen 1 - Kostenlose Vorlagen 2 - Kostenlose Vorlagen 3 - Vorlagen zum kaufen, KaufenSeite - Historische Dokumente - Häufig gestellte Fragen - Hegnerpräsentation - Links Anleitungen für Laubsägearbeiten:   Medusa Schachtel - Tresor - Eieruhr - Eiffelturm - Sonneuhr - Washington Schachtel

Diese Seite nutzt Cookies, Doubleclick, Statcounter und Google Adsense, um die Darstellung zu verbessern und die korrekte Funktion der Seite zu gewährleisten. Sie können diese und alle anderen Cookies löschen oder die Verwendung im Optionsmenü des Browsers blockieren. Cookies sind Textdateien die harmlos sind und von vielen Web-Seiten verwendet werden.

fine scroll saw fretwork patterns web page banner

The Giralda of Seville

Giralda of Seville Sevilla Spain    The Giralda of Seville is the minaret of the old Almohad mosque of the city. The lower section of the Giralda is the originally built by the Muslims. Its construction started in 1184 after the command of the sultan of Maroc, Abu Yaqub Yusuf. Stones from old roman constructions were used for the groundwork, some of which can still be seen in the Giralda down to the floor. The structure of the Giralda consists in four external and four internal walls, between them a spiral sloping ramp goes up to the terrace. This way it was possible for the sultan and the muezzins to go up the tower on horse. The construction was Finished in 1196 and in 1198 four big spheres of polished copper were added to the top. The sun light reflected by the spheres made the city visible from miles away. With its height of 82 meters the Giralda was for some time the highest tower in the world and one of the most beautiful in the Muslim world. When the city was conquered by the Christian king Fernando the third in 1248 the mosque was adapted to become a cathedral. In 1356 an earthquake affected the upper part of the Giralda, destroying the copper spheres. Around 1400 a belfry was installed to replace the damaged parts. The mosque was demolished in 1433 to build a properly Christian shaped cathedral, which was inaugurated in 1507. Fortunately the Giralda escaped this destruction and continued being used as the bell tower of the cathedral. Between 1558 and 1568 a new Renaissance campanile was constructed along with other topping sections, and a large bronze wind vane representing the Christian faith was installed to top the Giralda. This is how the Giralda acquired its present aspect, with a height of 98,5 meters. The name Giralda comes from the giros (turns) that the wind produces in the wind vane. Presently the Giralda continues being the bell tower of the cathedral of Seville.

Giralda evolution stages through time   

  This drawing by Guichot shows the changes experienced by the Giralda through the time.

  First state, left.  "Minaret and observatory of the Great Mosque, completed by the Almohades in 1198, also commemorating the battle of Alarcos, happened three years before."

  Second state, right. "Bell Tower of the main Church of the Christian reconquerors, after the fall of the balls due to the earthquake on august 24, 1356.."

  Third state, center, present day. "Bell tower of the Cathedral completed in 1568 the Christian part by the Cordoba architect Fernando Ruiz and other masters, including the 1890 restoration."

 
Sketchup rendering of wooden model of Giralda of Sevilla Seville

  I have designed this pattern with total fidelity to the original monument, adding all possible detail with the only limitation of the wood width to be used. Thus the four sides of the lower section are different. Even the balconies and decoration in a given side are different; all this detail has been represented in the model. To achieve such fidelity I have studied drawings and pictures of the tower, to respect measures, heights, widths and every possible detail.

   This pattern has no special difficulty in its construction, however it is by far the most time consuming and elaborate of all the patterns I have on this site.

   The pattern can be made at any desired height, just by adapting the wood thickness accordingly. If you use 2, 4 (main), 8 and 16 mm wood the height is 123 cm. If you use 1/16, 1/8 (main), 1/4 and 1/2 inches wood (scaling at 80%) the height is then 39 inches. Depending on your choice of wood these are the dimensions of the tower (main thickness in bold): 

  Height Width & depth
1.5, 3, 6 and 12 mm. wood 92 cm. 14,9 cm.
2, 4, 8 and 16 mm. wood 123 cm. 19,8 cm.
2.5, 5, 10 and 20 mm. wood  154 cm. 24,8 cm.
1/16, 1/8, 1/4 and 1/2 in. wood 38,4 in. 6,2 in.
3/32, 3/16, 3/8 and 3/4 in. wood 57,6 in. 9,3 in.

  If using 3 or 4 mm wood or 1/8 in. wood a 16 in. scroll saw is enough. If using 5 mm. or 3/16 in. an 18 in. scroll saw is necessary.

 
Sketchup rendering of scroll saw fretwork pattern of the Giralda in Seville Sevilla Spain Sketchup rendering of scroll saw plans for the wooden model of the Giralda in Sevilla Spain
   This is a detailed picture of the bells section.    This is a detailed picture of the lower section. Observe how the sides are different and even the balconies in a given side are different.
 
Skechup rendering of upper part of wooden model of the Giralda with Giraldillo on top clock section of the Giralda wooden model for scroll saw
  This is the upper part of the tower, showing the ¨Giraldillo¨ on top.   This is a detail of the so called ¨clock section¨. Presently there is no clock here but in old times a large clock used to be there.
 
side balconies and decoration of the Giralda fretwork project

     This is a detail of some balconies and the decoration around them.

  Please note that this pattern is registered and copyrighted. If you would like to have it I offer it for 20 € plus shipping. The pattern is computer made, which provides total precision, and nicely printed for convenient scrolling. Click here to buy this pattern. Write me to info@finescrollsaw.com for any questions.

  These pictures are courtesy of José María Beltrán from Barcelona, Spain.

   
         
   
 
  This picture has been sent by Pedro Domingo from Baza, Granada, Spain.   This picture has been sent by Isaac and Ester Arditi from Israel.  These pictures have been sent by Hugues Tournay from France. 
 
 These pictures have been sent by Angel Revuelta from Sevilla, Spain.

 

 This picture has been sent by Carlos del Cerro Tenorio from Spain.

 This picture has been sent by Mariano Ruíz Sánchez from Toledo, Spain.  These pictures are courtesy of Ken Field from Australia.

 

  This picture has been sent by Francisco Rodríguez from Spain.

 This picture has been sent by De Bruyne Marnix from Belgium.
 
 These pictures have been sent by Carlos from Madrid, Spain. The work has taken him 300 hours of work. The tower has got inner lighting with blue leds. The tower has been completed with special details like brass bells.

 
 This picture has been sent by Francisco Rojas García from Escalona (Toledo), Spain.  This picture has been sent by Jose Antonio Ruiz González from Sevilla, Spain.
 
This picture has been sent by Juan Antonio Barrantes from Barberá del Vallés, Barcelona, Spain. This picture has been sent by Luigi and Andrea Cassani from Italy. These two pictures have been sent from Antonio Valadés Flores from Don Benito, Spain.

This picture has been sent by Antonio Chaves from Sevilla, Spain.

 
This picture has been sent by Jose Luis Gómez from Alcalá de Henares, Spain. This picture has been sent by Diego Herrera Bellido de Jerez de la Frontera, Spain.  This picture has been sent by Santiago Fernandez from Barcelona, Spain.
 
This picture has been sent  by Alejandro Hernandez from Amposta, Tarragona. This picture has been sent by Francisco Domingo Fabre from Barcelona, Spain.  This picture has been sent by Evaristo Lorca from Velez Málaga, Spain.  This picture has been sent by Juán Manuel Gil Rey from Náquera, Valencia, Spain. This picture has been sent  by Juan Chaves from Guadalcanal, Sevilla, Spain.
 
This picture has been sent by Salvador Puig Vidal from Vilassar de Dalt, Barcelona, Spain.  This picture has been sent by Gaetano Lavezzo from Italy.
 
 These pictures have been sent by Jose Antonio Adame Macarro from Seville, Spain. This picture has kindly been sent by Jose Rodrigo from Borriol, Castellón, Spain. This picture has been sent by Sebastiano Foddai from Italy. This picture has been sent by Pedro García Navarro from Alcazar de San Juan, Spain.

 

Site Map

General: Home - Scroll saw examples - Free patterns 1 - Free patterns 2 - Free patterns 3 - Patterns for saleHistorical books - Shopping recommendations - Hegner review - Questions and answers - Links Scroll saw tutorials:   Medusa box - Security box - Egg clock - Eiffel Tower - Sun clock - Washington box

This site uses the cookies Doubleclick, Statcounter and Google Adsense to improve the user experience. You can delete these and all other cookies or to block its use from the options menu of your browser. Cookies are harmless text files used by all web sites.